Skip to content

To and from Tripletown, in pictures

September 25, 2007

Hey, it seems you can’t write a scooter blog without a photo sequence of your most recent road trip, so I shall pay tribute to the guru, Steve Williams, and present pix taken on the way to and from Tri-Cities:

Breakfast at Queen Anne Cafe

Breakfast is, after all, the most important meal of the day. And yes, it is quite possible to bonk when you ride a scooter, so I began the trip with one of Queen Anne Cafe’s awesome omelettes. Yeah, I’d probably get a ticket if the parking enforcement person got out of his/her Cushman 3-wheeler, but that didn’t happen.

Getting gas in Enumclaw

I had decided to fill the gas tank in Enumclaw, which is the beginning of the Chinook Scenic Byway, aka WA 410. I had some extra gas in a well-cleaned Minute Maid orange juice jug, just in case; there are only a few places to get gas between E-burg and Naches (which is pronounced na-CHEEZ), and I wasn’t sure about the PX’s fuel consumption. As I said, I made it without having to use the extra gas, but as they say, your mileage may vary.

The view from Chinook Pass

Here we are at Chinook Pass. The altitude was no problem, and 35 mph in 3rd gear is a speed the PX liked just fine. I was amazed at the weather; no clouds, a comfy temperature and great visibility.

Lunchtime in Naches

We made it! We made good time, too, arriving in Naches roughly four hours after leaving Seattle. I still don’t understand why the place isn’t called the Drift On Inn, but hey…

Somewhere on WA 24

We’re in the desert that is Eastern Washington. You’ll see tumbleweeds and even the occasional prairie dog. This picture was taken somewhere between Yakima and the Hanford Nuclear Reservation.

Stayed overnight in Yakima

I had no inclination to ride in the dark, so the plan was to ride only as far as Yakima when the rally ended on Sunday. I chose the cheap and kinda-cheerful Red Apple Inn on N 1st Street in downtown Yakima. There are a bunch of other hotels on this street, if you’d like something with a bit more luxury.

Chinook Pass, westbound

Here we are at the westbound side of the Chinook Pass rest area. I’m so glad the weather was so nice… this would’ve been an absolutely miserable trip in the rain. I’m also happy to report no issues whatsoever with the PX. It has once again shown it may not be the fastest thing on the road, but it will give you everything it’s got, all day long. Where are we off to next? Good question. Favicon

One Comment
  1. September 30, 2007 12:19 am

    Guru…. that’s funny.

    It’s always good to read about a Vespa that ventures out and away from town on a long trip. I hope time and circumstance one day allows me to do some overnight trips. For now I have to be content with the rides I can fit into parts of days with the occasional day long ride.

    In my mind I always see Washington as the place by the ocean. It’s cool to see a wider range of landscapes.

    Steve Williams
    Scooter in the Sticks

Comments are closed.