Skip to content

This is why I got a PX, revision C, part 3

September 19, 2007

There was a delivery van in my usual parking space, but plenty of room on the other side of the street. For once, I can park legally.

I’m at Uwajimaya in search of the Phillipine Del Monte fruit drink, or more correctly, the steel can it comes in, which is just tall enough to lift the rear wheel of a Vespa P or PX.

I’m always surprised by how many Asian tourists come here. I suppose there’s a bit of novelty in finding a store that carries the stuff you buy at home, but Seattle has had a large Asian population just about, well, forever. But it never fails, at least once I will see someone taking a picture of a travelling companion picking something out of the produce stand, or out of a freezer case.

Anyway, it’s time to search the aisles. Okay, there are the bags of frozen squid nuggets, the pink logs of something I can’t identify because all the writing is in Japanese, the bags of miso paste (miso soup is Japan’s breakfast of champions). Noodles, frozen and not, an entire freezer case with nothing in it but tofu.

I head to the produce section to see if they have any durians. None! They must not be in season. In fact, the most common item today, aside from grapefruit the size of 9-pin bowling balls, is squash.

My last stop is the cold beverage case. There’s green and yellow liquid in frosted-glass bottles, labeled in Japanese, unfortunately unintelligible to me. There’s Hello Kitty Lychee drink in 500ml plastic bottles, and Diet Coke in the usual 20-oz plastic bottle. No Del Monte brand, anything.

Dang. I head out the door, past the food court. All the stands are gated off, closed for the night… except Saigon Bistro. They have all manner of canned drinks lined up on the counter, still cold.

Hmm. Mango juice. In a steel can!

I forgot to bring the tape measure. But I’m thirsty, and this looks like it’ll work. A buck sixty-five, says the man behind the counter. I sit at a table and chug the mango juice; I can try the can when I get home. Favicon

4 Comments
  1. September 19, 2007 4:06 pm

    I hope that juice can works out for you. And next time send me a pic of something ??Asian, and maybe I will be able to tell you what it is.–Lawrence

  2. bob permalink
    September 19, 2007 10:10 pm

    Inquiring minds want to know; is the mango juice can the right size for the job? I’m saddled up on my PX and ready to make a Uwajimaya run!’

    Thanks again for all these articles. You’re a great resource to all P-series jockeys!

  3. September 19, 2007 10:17 pm

    No, unfortunately the mango juice was tasty, but the can is a good 3/4″ too short. I’m leaving for Tri-Cities on Friday, so unless I can come up with something else, I will pray to the tire gods to deliver me from sharp objects in the road. And bring a blanket, in case I need to lay the PX on its side…

  4. September 20, 2007 3:38 am

    I wonder if they make a tire liner such as Mr. Tuffy for scooter tires.
    –Lawrence

Comments are closed.