Skip to content

Pipe Dreams: the prologue

August 2, 2007
The old stock pipe

The old stock pipe, golden brown and delicious... (Orin O'Neill photo)

Since I’ve owned the PX, I’ve wished I had five bucks for every time I’ve heard the words “Sito Plus” and “upjet.” Well, the issue has been forced on me.

Seventy someodd-hundred miles of hard running have turned the PX’s exhaust pipe from matte black to a color Alton Brown would call “golden brown and delicious.” Okay, how ’bout just golden brown? With a touch of rust.

Yes, I noticed rust around some welds, and in other parts of the pipe. Leave rust alone long enough, a hole will develop. Two-stroke engines really hate having holes in their exhaust pipes, and patching a hole by the side of the road in the middle of nowhere is not fun at all. It’s best to be proactive about these things.

I have rides to Vancouver, B.C. and Tri-Cities coming up, and I really don’t like being a 47-mph sitting duck on rural highways. It’s time. I’m putting on a Sito Plus. Favicon

Comments are closed.