Skip to content

6105 miles already?

June 27, 2007

Headed toward downtown on the PX, I’m saying out loud, “wow this thing really is slow.”

We’re on our way to Big People for the 6000-mile service, which will occur somewhat beyond 6000 miles. Not too far beyond, since I have Safety Ed’s GT, which I’ve been using to get around whenever possible. Once you get used to 22 horsepower, you really notice how puny 8.5 is. And when you’re used to a 300-lb. bike, 213 lbs. can seem as light as a feather.

I have to admit, I’ve grown really fond of riding the GT. Safety Ed tells me it’s going to be quite a while before he’ll be able to ride again, so go ahead and rack up those miles. It’s better for the bike.

It’s also doing a great deal for my confidence. Until today, I had a personal rule that said ride only one bike per day. But I had things to do in the morning, so I hopped on the GT.

I needed to get from Ravenna to Capitol Hill quickly, so I decided it’s time. Time to ride on I-5.

It’s not a huge distance to the Roanoke exit from Ravenna, so even if it is scary, it will be short. I loop around from the westbound lanes of Ravenna Boulevard to the freeway entrance ramp.

Hmm. I can’t remember the last time I got on southbound I-5 this way, so the part about it being an entrance to both the mainline and express lanes was new to me. Oh, the ramp is metered… I have to stop.

The light goes green almost instantly, and I crank the throttle hard, zooming ahead of a Ford pickup in the #4 lane. There really isn’t much traffic, and I find I have to back off the throttle pretty significantly, as there is a bit of a clog on the Ship Canal Bridge. It’s a good thing, because it felt like I was going to get blown off the bike at my previous velocity. I’ll have to get the windscreen from Safety Ed and try this again.

I’m off at Roanoke Street, and make the left, then the right to 10th Avenue E. This is awful pavement on the PX, but not nearly so on the GT.

Back at home, I take care of some small tasks and head out for Georgetown. I decide to take Alaskan Way (but not the Viaduct), but a really long train has Broad Street blocked, so I decide to go to the Pike Place Market and take Western Avenue to Pioneer Square.

After what seemed like an eternity getting through the 4-way stop at Victor Steinbrueck park, I get stuck behind a tour bus that’s moving at a brisk walking speed. Then I get stuck by a line of vehicles whose drivers are totally flummoxed because the Mariners are playing this afternoon and therefore you can’t turn left on Royal Brougham Way. *Sigh!*

Luckily, I can turn left on Holgate and get to Airport Way. My cheapie magnetic digital clock says it’s 3:46, and the appointment’s at 4:00. Will I make it down Airport Way?

Yes, I do, throttle cranked hard. Did I mention the PX feels really slow? Favicon

2 Comments
  1. June 28, 2007 9:13 pm

    i love my GT. Nuff said.

  2. June 29, 2007 8:07 pm

    Yes, I have to admit it’s going to be hard to give Safety Ed’s GT back when he’s ready to ride again.

    Oh, 6000-mile service for the PX, including Vespa Club discount, came to $142 and change. More expensive than the two previous visits, but still cheaper than an equivalent service for the ET.

Comments are closed.