Skip to content

Yes, if everybody else jumped off the roof I would, too

April 25, 2007

Had to make a run to West Seattle, so this time I made sure to bring the camera.

Since Steve Williams’ blog Scooter in the Sticks was named best blog in Motocycle Bloggers International’s Riders Choice Awards for 2007, it seems every scooter blogger has posted a Williams-esque picture. I decided I didn’t want to be left out, so here’s my shot:

The PX at Alki Beach

On the way back, a guy who appeared to have purchased his teeth from Archie McPhee last Halloween was trying to start a conversation from the driver’s seat of his beat-up Kia Sedona, but the noise from Terminal 5 was too loud for me to hear what he was saying. The light turned green, and I headed up the hill toward the low-level West Seattle bridge.

Looking in my mirrors, I could see the guy had blown off the left-turn lane at the top of the hill, and was about three feet off my license plate. Oh, great. I crank the throttle and check carefully to make sure I’m going to miss the big hole at the bottom of the slope on the bridge’s opposite side.

Mr. Toothy then pulls alongside me and yells something about a “Honda 360” and “90 miles an hour.” I’m wondering if he’s going to move left and run me into the path of a semi coming the opposite direction, but he apparently decides he’s made his point and speeds off. *Whew!*

At least the guy outside Alki Bakery was able to talk about 90 mph (what’s up with that today?) without driving a car. I wasn’t completely sure what his point was, either.

Back on East Marginal Way, the traffic starts to thicken as the homeward rush begins. One point that never gets mentioned in the discussion to replace the Alaskan Way Viaduct is, where are all the scooters and motorcycles going to park? There are lots of odd-shaped, unmetered nooks underneath the elevated slabs that are jammed with all manner of bikes during the work week.

There are a lotta scoots heading south on the surface street, too. However, there are also a lotta cars and trucks. One should not be so busy looking for fellow scooterists that one gets creamed by someone in a car or truck who isn’t looking for scooterists, either.

But there is one scooterist in particular… a cute girl on a Vino. She doesn’t seem to know the Secret Motorcycle Wave, but smiles as we pass. Our paths have crossed before. Favicon

3 Comments
  1. April 26, 2007 2:42 am

    Hi Orin,

    Hey – that’s a very nice “Williams” you’ve shot! 😉

    Nothing like incomprehensible gibber from annoying drivers when we’re trying to concentrate on staying alive, is there?

    Cheers
    M

  2. April 26, 2007 7:05 pm

    Wow Orin, you’re pushing me towards photographic mythology! Your picture looks good.

    Mr. Toothy sounds like a character. I always have earplugs in while I am riding so I just tap on the side of my helmet and give people a puzzled look.

    Come to think of it I might do that when I am not riding….

    Steve Williams
    Scooter in the Sticks

  3. April 27, 2007 12:03 pm

    What a wonderful picture of your scoot at Puget Sound. It brings back such soggy memories for me, seeing the clouds and reminiscing about eating fish and chips out on the beach, trying to stay warm. Thanks again for the memories.

Comments are closed.