Skip to content

Goin’ like 60? As if…

March 25, 2007

Today was a great day for a ride, unlike yesterday when it seemed all of Western Washington was under a firehose.

The PX with GPS

The PX, with the GPS (Orin O'Neill photo)

It will be the Escape’s turn to stay parked. Not At All Evil K, Vespa Club ride coordinator, has convened a group ride to Spring Fling, a motorcycle happening in Georgetown. Or SoDo. Or somewhere.

Anyway, the idea is to meet at Cafe Racer and do some ridin’ for an hour or so. However, Doc has offered to let me use his GPS device to see just how far off my speedometer is. You may recall, I rode through a section of Lake Washington Boulevard in Kirkland that’s equipped with continuous radar and a digital display showing “Your Speed.” “My Speed” was 32 mph; the PX’s speedometer showed 40.

Doc being amazingly handy, he’d fabricated a styrofoam cradle for the GPS that fit neatly over the headlight. A bit of velcro, and it’s ready to go

Not At All Evil K gives the go signal, and we’re off, headed south on Roosevelt. The GPS says I’m going 18-point-something mph, while the speedo sez 25. Oh, my.

As the group picks up speed, I glance at the GPS and the speedo. GPS 22, speedo 30. GPS 27, speedo 35.

A wonderful route along Lake Washington and through Beacon Hill leads us to Hooverville, the possible SoDo venue. No bikes there, so we head for Jules Maes Saloon in Georgetown. There are some opportunities for nearly flat-out running. Trouble is, flat-out is more like 40 mph.

While it’s depressing to see just how slowly I’ve been going while thinking I’m riding like the wind, it is interesting to see that the error is pretty consistenly 8 mph optimistic. Maybe it can be adjusted, someone suggests. Could be. I’ll have to look into that. Favicon

3 Comments
  1. March 25, 2007 6:49 pm

    Boy, you weren’t kidding about the “firehose” conditions yesterday. But the sun was out in P.A. this morning, and so was my ’66 GT.

    It felt great having the Vespa out again. I really need to focus more on the old scoots, and get a feel for the culture and lifestyle. I envy you having the circle of scooter friends and resources close at hand. Thats gotta be nice.

    Have fun,
    Bill

  2. March 25, 2007 6:59 pm

    Bill, I’d be willing to bet you’re not the only scooterist in Port Angeles. I was in Bend, Ore. for three months last year and was quite surprised at how many vintage scooters were running around. Had my job turned into a permanent position, my first project would’ve been making up a batch of postcards to place on the seats of said scoots saying, “wanna start a scooter club?” An ad in a local paper or popular local Web site might be a possibility as well.

  3. March 27, 2007 4:06 pm

    I have never thought my speedo was a great measure of the pleasure one can get from a scoot (not a big fan of “my GS can go 65mph). I just know that when I am on my Vespa Sprint any speed above 35 feels like 65.
    Also, thanks for the Seattle tour. I use to live off of Roosevelt in the U district.

Comments are closed.