Skip to content

Hell freezes over, part deux *updated

October 7, 2013
LML Star Auto

Pictured: LML Star Automattica (Photo courtesy Scoot Jockeys)

It was seven years ago today, but in this case Sgt. Pepper didn’t teach the band to play—the first-ever post on this here blog appeared on October 7, 2006. And to celebrate, I have something to share that I know you’ll like.

Genuine dealer Scoot Jockeys, in Lake Geneva, Wis. posted news of an official communication from Genuine Scooter Co. on their Facebook page announcing the release of an automatic (well, CVT) Stella (this was confirmed by a Seattle-area Genuine dealer), to be called the Stella 125. The deets: MSRP, $3,499, 125cc displacement (probably not a 150 because LML Star Automatticas sold in Europe only come as 125s), any color you want as long as it’s Metallic Black, Candy Apple Red, Electric Blue or Ivory.

They also mention a 60+ mph top speed, which I suppose should be taken with a grain of salt. The engine is a linear CVT design that is completely unrelated to the 4-stroke 150cc engine in the manual-transmission Stella (see below). You’ll notice the transmission case is on the left side of the bike.

LML Star Auto engine

LML Star Automattica engine (Tasso UK photo)

Okay, you know what to do: Talk to your local Genuine dealer. Based on the e-mails I’ve received, Genuine is gonna sell these by the boatload. Scoot Jockeys says they expect their first batch to arrive in the spring of 2014. Favicon

Stella 125 flyer

UPDATE: To the right, you will notice I have linked to an image of the flyer sent to dealers, which has all the pertinent info. Click on the thumbnail to see it full-size (Warning: it’s rather large… you might want to download it to your computer by right-clicking (Windows)/Ctrl-clicking (Mac) the thumbnail instead).

Again, if you wanna be first on your block I would suggest putting down a deposit RIGHT NOW.

6 Comments
  1. October 8, 2013 6:12 am

    Cool!

    So, given your druthers… would you rather have a manual or CVT?

  2. October 8, 2013 8:00 am

    Congrats on 7 years Orin.

  3. October 8, 2013 8:15 am

    Lucky, on the one hand I rather like shifting for myself, and enjoy the profoundly mechanical feel of the old-skool scooters. OTOH, changing a CVT drive belt is one helluva lot easier than splitting the case to change a cruciform. The CVT Stella should just about be maintenance-free save for oil and filter changes; I would much rather spend my time riding, not wrenching.

    Lots of folks out there can’t or don’t want to work a manual transmission, but like the look of the Stella/P. And Genuine being a business, after all, passing up a large potential market makes no sense… there’s money to be made. Yes, this development will cause lots of people to gnash their teeth and rend their garments, but these people should just get over it. If you don’t want a Stella 125, then don’t buy one. And don’t go hatin’ on people who do.

    I’ve been in the hospital for the last month and change because my partial right foot got infected, which resulted in taking a bit more of it off. I’m not sure I’ll be able to operate a floor-mounted rear brake; a CVT Stella might be a possibility for me, and those like me…

  4. john kilroy permalink
    October 8, 2013 6:15 pm

    I like to ride—period. Shift or no shift I enjoy both. Continue to get better Orin!

  5. October 12, 2013 11:13 pm

    Thanks John, and Trobairitz!

  6. Andy permalink
    October 15, 2013 7:40 am

    As long as I can get the manual trannie Stella when I’m ready to buy, more power to them.

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 91 other followers