Skip to content

Back in the saddle again, briefly

July 29, 2012
Scooter sticker

Well, at least I was Saturday morning… (Orin O’Neill photo)

“Would you like to use our black ET?” asked Dorcie on the Friday morning of Hamster Run VII.

Uhhh. YES!

Todd and Dorcie have more than enough scooters to qualify as collectors, so making sure they all get regular exercise is something they try to do. The Daughter-in-Law would be riding it Friday, but I’d be welcome to it for the Saturday morning poker run.

Vespa ET4

It’s been more than a little while since I’d ridden… anything. But I borrowed Safety Ed’s ET4 for last year’s Scooter Insanity in Seattle and required absolutely no adjustment. Same deal here. I took the ET for a quick spin (I was thinking, adjusting the rear brake cable wouldn’t hurt, and the idle seemed a bit fast) and once again felt like I’d last ridden one yesterday.

I’m happy to say no adjustment was required for group riding, either. It’s like riding a bicycle—once you learn how, you never forget. There was a great turnout for the poker run. I saw a lot of familiar scooters.

Including this one.

The GTS

Auston and his dog Scully (as in Special Agent Dana, from The X-Files) rode alongside for part of the trip. Yes, I wish I didn’t have to sell the GTS, but I’m glad I was able to pass it along to someone who’s making good use of it.

Pacific Northwest Motorcycles

One of our stops was at the new Pacific Northwest Motorcycles on Meridian. The owners of Ural Northwest have acquired Moto Guzzi, Aprilia and Vespa and are now open for business at their new location.

Pacific Northwest Motorcycles

They have a great selection of apparel and accessories, and have also invested in lots of new equipment for the service department, which will continue to be located at the blue barn. There was an ’09 Genuine Buddy 150 St. Tropez on sale for only $100 more than I paid for the Fourth Estate, but it was a white 2012 Vespa LX 150i.e. that spoke most emphatically to me. Poverty continues to suck.

Should I regain membership in the middle class, I’ve decided a scooter in the 150cc range is what I want. The 326-lb GTS had become difficult to scuttle around on my wobbly legs, as had putting it on the center stand on anything other than a hard, level surface. A bike weighing 100 lbs less (like, f’rinstance, the ET4 I was riding) is much easier to handle under those circumstances. And with the advances being made in engines, 150ccs can now serve up more than enough power to ride safely on highways.

One would also be much easier to load into a pickup truck or van. ;)

People are talking about riding from Seattle to San Diego for Amerivespa 2013. Fifteen hundred miles? Once, maybe, but these days I’d much prefer having some energy left for the rally, y’know? Favicon

3 Comments
  1. Basil permalink
    July 29, 2012 4:56 pm

    Where is Auston’s dog Scully? I don’t see her in the picture.

  2. July 29, 2012 4:59 pm

    She’s the white blob in the milk crate. I was shooting with my iPhone…

  3. July 29, 2012 5:34 pm

    B-ham now has a Vespa dealership?? And here I have to do all my service in the Tri’s. Crums. Sorry you had to sell the GTS.

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 91 other followers