Skip to content

Ride to Work Day 2012

June 18, 2012

Ride to Work Day 2012

It’s the third Monday in June, and you know what that means—Ride to Work Day. Or even Ride to Work Week, if you like.

Well, at the moment I don’t have work to ride to. Even if I did, I don’t have anything to ride.

Yes, I sold the GTS. While modern Vespas are well-engineered, well-made motor vehicles that are absolutely wonderful to ride, one thing they are not is economical transportation.

Everyone knows scooters get great gas mileage, and the GTS was no exception, delivering 72-75 mpg no matter how I rode it. Insurance was rather cheap, GEICO offering a minimum statutory liability policy for $99/year. Parking can be easy, too.

The GTS

Orin O’Neill photo

But when you actually use the thing as its manufacturer intended you roll up the miles pretty quickly. Which means frequent, expensive service visits. And eventually, expensive component replacements.

At the moment, I can’t afford a scooter that costs way more to run than my car.

Both needed work, and the cost of that work for the GTS and for the Fourth Estate was about the same. But spending the money on the car would get me at least 50000 miles. The scooter, 10 to 12000. Maybe.

More importantly, competent, trustworthy service for a car is readily available. For a scooter? Well, if Jason gets tired of wrenching on them, I’ll bet a lot of scooters in the ‘Ham will show up on Craigslist, all at once.

I believe the GTS’ new owner will give it a good home. He used to ride a Ruckus, and plans to use it to commute to his job in another part of the county. He could afford the component replacements, as could I if I were employed.

If this economic recovery I keep hearing about comes to my house, and I have job to go to, I fully intend to get another scooter. Another GTS (one of those 300-mile Craigslist specials) might be a possibility, though I also rather like the 4-stroke Stella. I see a lot of good P200s at good prices, too.

I’ve even had this hare-brained idea about buying an off-brand scooter and documenting its time with me the way I did with the PX when I first got it.

But for now, I’m going scooterless. Which does NOT mean this here blog is going away. Oh, no.

There’s news to report, stuff to review, events to cover. You, dear reader, can help with all that… I’m always looking for guest contributors. Words, pictures, whatever you do best, Scootin’ Old Skool’s worldwide audience (‘sup Afghanistan?) is eager for news about the scootering world.

Drop me a line. Favicon

4 Comments
  1. June 18, 2012 12:47 pm

    Ride to work, work to ride… odd slogan if you ask me. Oh, I do enjoy riding to work, and rarely ride anywhere else. But work to ride? I can think of a number of things I work for that come in ahead of riding! Maybe they could combine that slogan with the “ride to live, live to ride” version and make it “Ride to work, work to live, live to ride”.

    I’m sorry that you’re having to give up the scooter for now. I hope everything soon changes for the better for you.

  2. June 18, 2012 1:20 pm

    Bummer you had to give up the scooter, but it is understandable.

    Just think how much fun you’ll have picking out one when the time comes to get back in the saddle.

  3. Martha permalink
    June 18, 2012 3:53 pm

    I’m sorry to read this, Orin. I wish you would have taken up a collection…

    I always look forward to your posts.

  4. June 19, 2012 7:57 pm

    A scooter is economical….and, it isn’t. I chuckle when folks buy a scooter to save money. It can, but not as much as most expect. Choices. I hope you sooner rather than later have a different set of choices, the kind of choices which accompany having “disposable income.” I’m grateful I can look forward to your blogging. I read them all.
    ~Keith
    http://didheridetoday.blogspot.com/

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 91 other followers