Skip to content

My own private motorcycle show, part deux

December 19, 2011
by
The group

From left, Troubadour, Bobskoot, Trobairitz and SonjaM (Orin O'Neill photos)

Though I found this year’s Seattle Motorcycle Show a big disappointment, it nevertheless offered an opportunity to meet with motorcycle blogger friends.

I’d met Bobskoot (Riding the Wet Coast) several years ago. It was my first time meeting Troubadour (Troubadour on a Tiger), Trobairitz (Trobairitz’ Tablet) and SonjaM (The (re-)discovery of motorcycle riding).

Bobscoot and Troubadour

Bobskoot tries the Triumph Tiger 1050 on for size. Troubadour rides a Tiger 800. SonjaM has a Harley Sportster and a GTS. Of the group, I’m the only one who rolls exclusively on a scooter, a situation I see continuing for the foreseeable future.

Inside Cyber Dog

Having seen all there was to see, we walked a block east to Cyber Dogs for lunch. As you can see, an eclectic decor compliments an eclectic menu of vegetarian and vegan sausages.

Chicago Dog

I went for the Chicago Dog. Which was nominally a bratwurst, except it was meatless. It was rather good.

The rest of the group

Everyone else enjoyed their lunch, too. That’s Mrs. Skoot on Bobskoot’s left.

Our bellies full, I bid my friends adieu so as to arrive back in Bellingham before dark. There’s talk of a scooter/motorcycle bloggers’ convention in 2012. I hope it’s not too far away. Favicon

4 Comments
  1. December 19, 2011 9:43 pm

    Thanks for the tip about Cyber Dogs; wish I’d known. I had to leave earlier than I wished on Saturday, due to having had no lunch, and not wanting to go to the McDonald’s by the Westin. I know we live in tough times, but it seems the show office could’ve at least offered journos some coffee.

  2. December 20, 2011 7:47 am

    Orin:

    As usual, It is always a pleasure to be able to meet up with other bloggers. I think most of the new models were there, having been absent from last years show. Triumph had one of the best displays from Bonnevilles to the Tiger ADVenture tourer. It’s too bad you couldn’t have stayed for dinner as Chuck was able to join us.

    bob
    Riding the Wet Coast

  3. December 20, 2011 3:43 pm

    Very nice get together. Here’s hoping I make into a pic like this spring in Vancouver.

    Warm regards from Montreal to the wet ciasters!

  4. December 21, 2011 9:02 pm

    Orin,
    I have followed and enjoyed your blog for a long time and am very happy that we could finally meet in person on the show. Hence for me… no disappointment ;-)

    Too bad you couldn’t stay for dinner. Take care and ride safely!

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 110 other followers