Skip to content

Well, it is September

September 7, 2011
The leaves are turning

Orin O'Neill photo

The leaves are starting to turn. Summer doesn’t officially end until later this month, but still.

I hate fall.

I ask those who find fall “invigorating” what exactly is it about pitch darkness at 4:15 pm that invigorates?

Okay, that will come later. Western Washington is having belated summer weather, with abundant sunshine in the forecast until the middle of next week, at least. The UDub’s Rock Star Meteorolgist Cliff Mass explains in very geeky detail what’s going on in the atmosphere.

In the meantime, I’ve been taking full advantage of the weather, running errands via the most circuitous routes possible. The SparX helmet has been getting a lot of use lately.

A group will be riding up to Mount Baker next weekend. I intend to be part of it. Favicon

4 Comments
  1. September 8, 2011 9:41 am

    Howdy Orin,
    I see that you are enjoying your SparX helmet. Do you recommend?
    I am also looking into purchasing some sort of riding jacket… do you have a brand or a specific jacket that you recommend? How much armor do you equip yourself with?

    Enjoying your Site

    -Matt

  2. September 8, 2011 12:09 pm

    Matt, I am very pleased with the SparX FC-07, and would not hesitate to recommend it, along with SparX’s full-face helmets. Excellent quality at a very reasonable price, and if you crash one of their helmets they’ll send you a new one! (See materials accompanying the helmet for details).

    Otherwise, I’m quite partial to Corazzo jackets and apparel. Not only because the company’s in Portland, but because my Corazzo 5.0 jacket has nary a loose thread after seven years of exposure to all kinds of weather. Their products are designed and made by riders, for riders.

    As for armor, it depends on the trip. I will be fully geared up, with a full-face helmet for the Mount Baker ride. But when I’m going to the grocery store, I just wear the helmet. Some may gnash their teeth and rend their garments about that, but on such trips I would be dressed exactly the same way if I were riding a bicycle; in either case I’d be riding the same roads, at the same speed…

  3. Jack Riepe permalink
    September 8, 2011 4:30 pm

    Dear Orin:

    Late fall can be depressing. I am talking about cold October and November days when the streets are slick with rain-soaked leaves. On the other hand, nothing could be nicer than next Sunday, when I step out into the driveway, slip into my body armor, and don’t sweat. The temperature will be a cool 62 degrees to start, warming up to a nice 75 around noon. And it will still be summer until September 22, 2011.

    Fondest regards,
    Jack/reep
    Twisted Roads

  4. mark morris permalink
    September 8, 2011 11:53 pm

    It was still summer here till this week. Amazing that the trees out there are turning color.

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 102 other followers