Skip to content

Where you find it

April 7, 2010
Redemption, parking style

For urban scooter riders, the biggest issue is not traffic. It’s parking.

If I were trying to park a car, I’d have thought the owner of the Corvette a thoughtless jerk. But in this case, the ‘Vette owner has created two primo scooter parking spots. Alas, I had no riding buddy that day.

Isn't this scooter parking?

Scooter parking at Safeway

The unused half circles and triangles in many parking lots are ideal places to stash your scoot. Being able to make use of otherwise wasted space is one of the biggest advantages of scooter ownership. And I’ve always been of a mind that in cases like this, the stripes define 2-wheel parking spaces. Well, that’s my story, and I’m sticking to it.

At the grocery store, the cart corral was placed in a way that would prevent a car from using the space in front of it. But a scooter? A perfect fit. In fact, a guy walking across the parking lot told me he was going to suggest to the store manager that the space be officially designated as scooter parking. He told me he rides a Honda Helix.

Parked near the Dumpster

The front of the GTS is well short of the end of the white line on the left, so it’s not sticking out any more than, say, a Chevy Suburban would. However, a gate that leads to a Dumpster is out of the picture to the right, and the GTS would be in the way if a garbage truck were coming to make a pickup. I was only going to be there a few minutes, and would happily have moved if asked. If you’re carrying a helmet, they’ll know who to ask.

It's nice having a driveway

Having a an off-street parking spot for your scoot is always nice.

Not improperly parked

While many would say this scooter is improperly parked, IronGrandDad tells me Oregon doesn’t address the issue, and apparently, neither does the City of Portland. Favicon

6 Comments
  1. April 7, 2010 4:44 pm

    Now I’m relieved. When you inquired, I worried you had suddenly become law abiding.

    Interestingly, I ask parking enforcement people how many bikes can park in the same metered spot. I always get the same answer.

    “As many as will fit but when the meter expires everyone gets a ticket!”

    In Portland, where they have those spots where you go to a box and pay, only one bike is allowed now.

  2. April 7, 2010 4:58 pm

    IronDad, same deal in Seattle … good for the city, of course.

    Orin, that blue scoot actually looks like it’s appropriately parked given the particulars of that stretch of road. I think I’d think twice about sticking my nose into the travel lane in that situation.

  3. April 7, 2010 7:51 pm

    Oh, what an excellent idea! I’m gonna carry the camera on every trip the next few weeks, and I’ll credit you with the idea. I find some unique parking solutions, as well.

    Of course, whenever using normal parking, unless it is very sparsely used when I arrive and I only plan a short visit, I prefer “shallow placement” (often even sideways), to alert autos that there IS INDEED a vehicle in this spot.
    .

  4. April 8, 2010 7:54 am

    I like these kinds of essays as they make Key West look good.

  5. April 9, 2010 7:24 pm

    Dear Sir:

    Nearly every store of purpose in Chester County, Pa is nestled in some hellish stripmall. The mob fights for the spots closest to the liquor store, the pizza place, the Radio Shack, and the video rental store. The liquor store draws the most traffic by far. Yet right in front, is a triangle of bright yellow lines, offering more tha enough room for three or four motorcycles. I seek out these “parking” spots whenever possible. In addition to being closer to the places where I like to shop, there is less chance of having some dope whip into the parking spot and fiding there is a bike with the front of his car.

    Fondest regards,
    Jack • reep • Toad
    Twisted Roads

  6. April 14, 2010 4:52 am

    I have seen that same black Corvette in Texas, parked in the exact same a*shole way!

    In a congested head-in parking lot, I too would try to park the scooter near the mouth of each rectangular space so that an UAV (Urban Assault Vehicle) would (hopefully) see it parked there and not SMASH into it. But seriously, there’s no guarantee that it won’t… :(

    _ Lorenzo

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 107 other followers